FAQ

 
Why is the phone number of an online booking not saved in DormBook?
 
→ Define first a field in guest-details called “Phone” (no longer or shorter name). See more.

Why are bed prices for private rooms not given in DormBook?
 
→ Give to the additional unused beds in the room the status of “empty bed”. more

How are new versions of Dormbook installed?
 
→ Go to “Extras – Updates”. You will receive a message if a new version is available.

What prompts the e-mails “RE: DormBook: Booking save error (…)”?
 
→ Each booking contains the date (and time stamp) of the last time the booking was modified. A booking opened in DormBook is given a time stamp, which is sent to and saved on the server. If two users work at the same time on the same booking, conflict can happen: there is discrepancy between the time when data was sent by DormBook to the server and the time for the saved data in the database. The various changes are not lost but sent in the body of an e-mail instead of saved.

To minimize the number of times this situation happens, we would recommend the following:
- either set up in the Online Administration (A) that a booking can be opened in only one place at a time.
- or try to save and close the bookings as soon as possible, for example if you are interrupted in the middle of your work by something else to do. The least time a booking is left open, the least probability there is for someone else to want to do some changes to the same booking.

How to treat conflict e-mails?
 
→ Open the reservation concerned whose number is to be found in the e-mail, in DormBook. Click on the button “Add bed”. A list of all currently available beds is displayed. Choose a suitable bed and check the price. Now, this reservation contains enough beds for the duration in question.

FAQ

 
Warum wird die Telefonnummer aus einer OnlineReservation nicht im DormBook gespeichert?
 
→ Es muss zuerst ein Feld dafür in den Gastdetails definiert werden, dessen englischer Text genau «Phone» heisst (nicht mehr und nicht weniger). mehr

Warum werden die Preise für Privatzimmer im DormBook nicht ausgegeben?
 
→ Füllen Sie die überzähligen Betten mit «Leerbetten». mehr

Wie werden neuere Versionen von DormBook installiert?
 
→ Gehen Sie auf «Extras – Auf Updates prüfen». Falls eine neue Version zur Verfügung steht, wird Ihnen das mit einer Meldung mitgeteilt.

Wie entstehen die E-Mails «Betreff: DormBook: Reservation save error (…)»?
 
→ Jede Reservation weiss das Datum (inkl. Zeit), wann sie das letzte Mal geändert wurde. Wenn eine Reservation in DormBook geöffnet wird, merkt sich DormBook diese Zeit im Hintergrund und schickt sie beim Speichern an den Server. Wenn sich die Zeit, die DormBook an den Server schickt, von der aktuell in der Datenbank gespeicherten unterscheidet, werden die Änderungen in eben so eine E-Mail verpackt und NICHT gespeichert. Dies kommt vor, wenn die Reservation von zwei Benutzern gleichzeitig bearbeitet wird.

Falls Sie diese Situation auf ein Minimum beschränken möchten, empfehlen wir folgende Möglichkeiten:
- In der Online-Administration (A) kann eingestellt werden, dass eine Reservation im DormBook nur einmal geöffnet werden kann.
- Versuchen Sie die Reservationen immer möglichst schnell wieder zu schliessen, auch wenn Sie mittendrin gestört werden. Je weniger lang eine Reservation geöffnet ist, desto kleiner ist die Chance, dass genau in dieser Zeit jemand anders die Reservation ändert.

Wie werden Konflikt-E-Mails bearbeitet?
 
→ Öffnen Sie im DormBook die betreffende Reservation, deren Nummer in der E-Mail erwähnt ist. Klicken Sie auf den Button «Bett hinzufügen». Eine Liste aller derzeit verfügbaren Betten wird angezeigt. Wählen Sie ein geeignetes Bett aus und kontrollieren Sie den Preis. Damit sind dieser Reservation entsprechende Betten für die jeweilige Dauer zugewiesen.